NaNoWriMo


“I write to discover what I know.”
-Flannery O’Connor

November is National Novel Writing Month, according to I guess these guys with the website.


http://nanowrimo.org/

The idea is to write a 50,000 word novel in thirty days, which is not nearly as impossible as it sounds… it just takes time. Time I am thinking about taking.

I’ve been meaning to write again for a long time, and this seems like a good opportunity. After all, there’s no way to reach higher than you’ve ever reached before than to raise the bar at a ludicrous altitude and jump til you learn to fly.

Even if I undershoot 50,000 words, in a month with finals in school and then a trip back home, I’ll hopefully write something. And if Flannery O’Connor is right, I’ll learn something about myself.

If you’re a writer, and even if you’re not, I recommend giving this a try. You never know what you know.

What do you think?

